Croatia joined the euro on 1 January 2023

12/28/2022 / Press release

Croatia became the 20th member of the euro area on 1 January 2023, when it introduces the euro as its official currency. The decision to join the euro and set the exchange rate for the Croatian kuna was approved by the Council of the European Union on 12 July 2022. After a 14-day period of dual circulation, when payments in Croatia can be made in kuna and euros alike, the kuna, the present currency, will be withdrawn from circulation. Euro banknotes and coins will become the sole legal tender on 15 January 2023.

The exchange rate between the Croatian kuna and the euro has been determined, and is set at 7.5345 kuna to the euro. Kuna banknotes and coins can be exchanged for euros throughout Croatia during all of 2023, and solely at the Croatian central bank from January 2024. There is no time limit on exchanging kuna banknotes at the central bank, but coins can be exchanged until 31 December 2025. More information about the key milestones in Croatia joining the euro and the options for exchanging currency can be found on this link.

In line with the ECB’s established practice, it is possible to exchange kuna banknotes commission-free at Banka Slovenije counters between 1 January and 28 February 2023. Additional information on exchanging kuna at Banka Slovenije, and at any of the commercial banks or savings banks, or at certain currency exchange operators can be found on this link