Financial stability

Striving for financial stability is the Bank of Slovenia’s statutory duty. Financial stability is defined as a situation in which the components of the financial system (financial markets, financial institutions and the financial infrastructure) function without systemic disruptions, and in which each component of the system provides the greatest possible degree of flexibility in responding to any shocks that occur.

Within this framework the Bank of Slovenia performs a range of tasks:

Banking union

The banking union was created as a response to the financial crisis to restore and maintain confidence in the European banking system. The purpose of the banking union is to make European banking more transparent, unified and safer.

The banking union is an essential complement to the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) and the internal market, which aligns responsibility for supervision, resolution and funding at EU level and forces banks across the euro area to abide by the same rules. This single rulebook is the foundation for the banking union.

The banking union is based on these pillars:

Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM)

Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM)

European Deposit Insurance Scheme (EDIS)

Has been functioning since 4 November 2014.Has been functioning since 1 January 2015.EDIS is currently under discussion.